“Let Her Go Fran”

WE LEARNED VERY FAST THAT WE WERE NOT FERRET PEOPLE. THOSE
STRANGE THINGS TURNED OUT TO BE JUST UNWELCOME GUESTS WHO HAD US
AT OUR WITS END THEN WE GOT A CAT WHO ATTACKED. WE TOOK THEM BACK WHERE THEY CAME FROM WITH WINGS ON OUR FEET. YES WE ALSO HAD PARA CREEPS AND EXOTIC FISH THAT WE TOOK VERY GOOD CARE OF ONLY TO SEE THEM THE NEXT DAY BELLY UP.

I ALWAYS HAD A PET, MY MOM’S BELOVED POODLE STOLE OUR HEARTS AND 21 YEARS LATER HE BROKE OUR HEARTS WHEN WE HAD TO MAKE THE RIGHT
CHOICE AND TOOK HIM TO THE VET TO BE PUT TO REST. THANK GOD MY
BROTHER WAS VISITING US. FIRST HE LOST HIS SIGHT; I CALLED THE VET AND ASKED HIM IF HE COULD REMOVE THE CATARACTS FROM HIS EYES
HE SAID THAT HE COULD BUT THEY WOULD JUST COME BACK. HE LOST HIS APPETITE AND WOULD NOT DRINK ANY WATER,I WOULD HOLD HIM LIKE A
BABY AND HE DRANK FROM MY SPORT BOTTLE WE WOULD SAY GOOD BOY AND
HOPED HE HEARD US. I KNOW HE FELT IT THOUGH OUR LITTLE GUY
WOULD PEE ON HIS BED , WE DID NOT CARE WE ALL SAID GOOD BOY AND
WE GOT A WATERPROOF COVER FOR HIS BED. WHEN HE STARTED TO BE
SUFFERING TOO MUCH AND MY GOOD BROTHER SAID HE WAS GOING TO
TAKE HIM TO BE PUT TO REST.WE WERE ALL WITH HIM IN THE END
HOPING THAT HE COULD HEAR US TELLING HIM HOW MUCH WE LOVED HIM
TEARS FALLING ON HIS BEAUTIFUL CURLY HAIR.WE BROUGHT HIM HOME
AND PUT HIM ON HIS BED WHILE EACH OF US PETTING HIM FOR THE LAST
TIME,FOR SOME REASON I JUST WANTED TO LOOK AT HIM .HE LOOKED LIKE HE WAS AT PEACE,WE BURIED HIM IN THE BACK YARD WITH MOM’S
LOVELY FLOWER’S.
MY PARENTS LIKED TO PLAY TENNIS AND BAD MITTEN YES IT”S TRUE
THEY DID HAVE A LITTLE IN COMMON. THEY WERE PLAYING TENNIS ONE
DAY, A MAN WALKED BY WITH A MINIATURE BLACK POODLE, MY MOM SAID
‘WHAT A CUTE DOG’ TO THE MAN AND SMILED HER LOVELY SMILE. THAT
WAS WHEN HE SAID ‘I HAVE ANOTHER ONE AT HOME YOU CAN HAVE HIM IF
YOU WANT TO. MY FAMILY LOVED OUR PETS BUT OUR RABBIT HAD RUN AWAY SO THEY FOLLOWED HIM TO HIS HOUSE.
WHEN WE FIRST SAW HIM ALL 3 OF US SAID TAKE THAT UGLY THING BACK. HE HAD BEEN AN OUTDOOR DOG AND HAD NEVER BEEN GROOMED.
THEY WERE SMARTER AND KNEW HE JUST NEEDED A HAIR CUT. MY DAD
TOOK OVER AND WE WATCHED HIM LABORIOUSLY TRY TO CUT OFF ALL
THE DREADLOCKS THAT HAD FREAKED US OUT. I SAW SOMETHING IN MY
DAD THAT DAY,HE LOOKED HAPPY! THAT WAS RARE TO SEE,I STUDIED
HIS FACE AS HE INTENSELY CUT THOSE MATTED CLUMPS OF HAIR. I
SAW A TINGE OF BOYISHNESS I KNEW MY DAD HAD TO GROW UP FAST AND
HAD TO WORK AND CONTRIBUTE TO KEEP HIS FAMILY AFLOAT. WE WERE
TOLD VERY LITTLE ABOUT HOW MY PATERNAL GRANDFATHER HAD DIED.
IT HAD BEEN A TRAIN ACCIDENT,BUT I SENSED THERE WAS MORE TO IT.
THEY WERE KEEPING SOMETHING FROM US. ONE MORE GRIM THAN I WAS
TOLD,WE WERE A FAMILY WITH MANY UNANSWERED QUESTIONS. I KNEW
THOUGH THAT HE LOVED HIS MOTHER AND GAVE HIS HARD EARNED WAGES
TO HER.HE JUST KEPT ENOUGH SO THAT HE COULD SAVE UP ENOUGH
TO BUY HIS OWN BASEBALL BAT ,HIS BOWLING BALL,AND A SET OF GOLF
CLUBS. YEAH DAD YOU HAD IT TOUGH, I’M HANGING MY HEAD IN SHAME
FOR ALL THE TROUBLES I CAUSED AND WHAT A BRAT I WAS. I WAS
DISRESPECTFUL WHEN I SHOULD HAVE SEEN HOW MUCH I SOMETIMES
WOULD PURPOSELY CAUSE HIM UNNECESSARY PROBLEMS. I KNOW
NOW HOW MUCH HE HAD TO CARRY ON HIS YOUNG SHOULDERS (TOO MANY
SECRETS?)

WHEN YOU GET OLDER,YOU SEE THINGS VERY DIFFERENTLY. YOU DIED TOO SOON
DAD, BELIEVE ME HOW I WISH I COULD TURN BACK TIME. YOU
TRIED TO SAVE ME,YOU WERE THE ONLY ONE WHO TRIED.

 

COPY RIGHT ALL RIGHTS RESERVED

Leave a Reply

