Left At The Alter?

                             I was cleaning my mom’s house, and under her bed I found her college yearbook. When she was young and pretty, she had never shown it to us.

I opened it up and all her classmates had written something to her in it. Most of them had wrote congratulations to you and Ed. I also had found an aged

scrapbook with lots of pictures. In those pictures I had found another piece to a puzzle, I saw in most of them a very young and happy woman. The happy

one that I tried to capture again, but for some reason I couldn’t. Now I was to find out why. In most there is always a tall light haired young man at her side.

He was pushing her on a swing and they were throwing snow at each other in some. I had seen him before in another scrapbook of old family pictures. I now

knew  who that happy and handsome person was, it was Ed her college sweetheart. Reading the things people wrote in her yearbook made it seem that they all

expected mom and Ed were to be married.

I went to her and asked “what happened to Ed mom?” She turned her head so that I did not see her face when she answered “he went home the last Christmas

and went back to his high school sweetheart .” He must not have told her right away because the writings of others made it sound like it was expected of them.

I had one of my senses telling me to be on the lookout for the unexplained reason she had settled for my dad ( I do forgive you, and have made my peace with

you. I realize now dad that maybe this happened to you too.) Under the circumstances I now know that you both had settled for each other,this marriage occurred

from that, I wonder how Ed’s doing? I think mom was left at the alter. 1951 must have been the worse year  of your life. Mom graduated, but with a broken heart.

That is also the year your mom died,and it was the year you learned your brother Ted was going to get married to someone with your first name. One Frances

Suchoruke in a small town was enough. Mom went through hell that year!

 

copyright all rights reserved

Leave a Reply

